lunedì 27 agosto 2007
B...
Busy. Tired. No time. To Do: Bio lab bio project practice piano for recital chem lab long ass math hw Squee! Enrique on Ellen Degeneres Show
sabato 25 agosto 2007
Note: I ...
Note: I owe comments to several people and some I owe questions for that interview meme. Sorry it's taking so long, it's been a busy weekend. Why is LJ my preferred choice of procrastination? Lol, like I really have to ask myself that. ;) Anyway should be doing this block project. We have to present a ridiculous solution to a problem á la "A Modest Proposal" by Jonathan Swift. Updating for Friday through Monday. In part due to the Great LJ Blackout of '05 and because didn't have much time to get to a computer. Edit: 11:21p.m. Should go to sleep but want to finish update and still have one piece of homework left to do. Could do it tomorrow morning because we have late start Wednesdays where we go to school 2 hours later than normal. We worship these days. Though the bad thing is that on Thursdays, it feels likes Monday all over again. On Friday, we got the "Modest Proposal" assignment and two people in my group of 4, technically only one suggested the "problem" of gays but still I couldn't believe what I was hearing. I never expected to encounter this at school. Sure I assumed that people were of this view but I'd never encountered it in real live, well technically anywhere other than on the news, and so I was living in this little bubble of denial where everyone was okay with gays. It was quite a shock to have someone that I know say that "all gays should be dropped into the middle of Arkansas then have a wall built around them. Keeping them contained and keeping the Arkansasians busy." What's wrong with gays??? What does everyone have against them? Why is religion such a freaking big influence in our lives? I didn't know that religion was such a major factor in what we think is "proper." I bet 500 years from now, people will be wondering why the issue of gays was so controversial (well at least I hope that will be the case). Also on Friday, the destruction of my last fandom and 'ship. They made one of the characters of my OTP, Ford from Stargate Atlantis, a recurring character. This is what would have gone up on Friday if there hadn't been a blackout. NO NO NO! Shep/Ford! My Shep/Ford! Inarticulate rage at the TPTB for ruining my only really slashy pairing left. Only pairing that still had goddamn subtext when they managed to be onscreen together (because other than the pilot and 38 minutes, Ford is basically nonexistent). Mine! Mine! Mine! Shep/Ford! They demoted him to a recurring character! Replaced him on Sheppard's team with some hunted human who won't even trust them. Shep/Ford! I swear all the producers are looking for any rumors of slash and then destroying it [the pairing]. It doesn’t explain McKay's [continued] existence then but grrrrr! They added Beckett, why the fuck couldn't they keep Ford!?!?! He is the most underdeveloped character, all the fans agree, and whose fault is that??? Huh??? (accusing tone directed at producers) Instead of dealing they invent a totally new character to replace Ford!!!!! He better be added back full time after season 2. Fans need to stage a boycott, petition, whatever to get Ford back like they did with Daniel. Interestingly enough, I posted that opinion about the petition stuff elsewhere and that has become reality. I myself need to sign it but yay maybe it'll keep Ford around. Hopefully it works because there are no slashy shows left then, not ones with subtext you don't have to work that hard for. There was a little ficlet that just sprang out in response to that news. Don't know if I'll post it here. Battlestar Galactica premiered. Squeee! Shiny new fandom! No slash hints yet but I'm shipping Apollo/Starbuck. Hee, never thought I'd go back to het. but this pairing just jumps out at you. I so hope they fulfill what they are hinting at. That's all for Friday.Really, really, really crappy day. Don't want to go into it. All I have to say is that my eyes were very tired from all the crying that happened. Absolute, complete boredom. Had to go to the public library and volunteer. My mom made me go. All I ever do is RHA which is finding and pulling the stuff people have put on hold. Utter boredom for two straight hours then I got to be online for the next 3 hours with cable internet. Yay! but they have this filter so sometimes sites I want to go to are blocked. Then nothing interesting, just lazed around putting off homework. Oooo, watched the CSI: Miami repeat. God was this one slashy! Subtext galore between Speed and Delko. Was squeeing madly whenever they had scenes together and for some odd reason those are few and far between. Another thing is it just me or is Speed even during season 1 kinda being marginalized? Because I haven't really seen him much the last couple episodes and he never seems to work his own crime scene. First day of volunteering at the hospital. Was poked and blood was drawn. Then was shown what we'd be doing. Thought it'd be more exciting but guess they don't let kids do the more interesting stuff. Most of it involved paperwork, getting that delivered or filed. The delivering of the papers to the mother/baby unit was cool. We got to see the papers go travel through a transport tube. Then there was delivery of clothes to the various wings, up and down elevators stairs. You do a lot of walking, didn't expect that. We were shown around by these two guys. One we could barely understand and the other is laidback. Overall, it was an interesting experience, I'll be bored after a couple months of doing the same thing though. It seems I'm the youngest during my shift on Monday afternoons. Everyone else is either a junior or a senior. I'm only a sophomore. I was surprised, I'd thought there would be more people my age. Most of the people volunteering want to become doctors. I don't, I'm just curious about the hospital and I need the hours for CAS (IB requirements). Missed my piano lesson. I hadn't thought there was one but there was because I didn't read the contract. I'd assumed that she followed the Lake Washington School District holiday sheet exactly because before then she had but this was the first time she didn't. She only follows the schedule for the major holidays and well I wasn't really paying attention and so didn't take in that little detail. Hence, my missing the lesson. Arg. I wasn't ready yet anyway so that was kinda a good thing. I don't like practicing piano, I don't know why. I'd rather I was learning cello but piano is cheaper and more brother and sister want to learn. -sigh- Maybe when I'm an adult I can learn cello. Behind the Stargate: Secrets Revealed aired. Rainbow was host! This is the most we've seen of him since the premiere and 38 minutes. Then all the behind the scenes stuff. Rainbow's having so much fun! How could they scale his character back! We never even got good character development out of him. The plot for Ford next season is crap. SPOILERS Ford becomes SuperFord! and goes hunting Wraith because an enzyeme makes him able to track Wraith easily. Ford escapes from Atlantis and goes on a Wraith hunting spree. The team has to get him back but have orders to shoot to kill because he's a security risk if he escapes. The team nears his capture, but Ford jumps into the beam of a passing Wraith dart? ship and escapes that way. That's how they're gonna reduce Ford to recurring. Wah!!! I have this bad feeling that eventually there will be no more Ford at all on the show, that they're just gonna write Ford off completely. Watched CSI where Nick speaks Spanish. -melts- OmgSquee! Nick. Spanish. Gun. -melts/drools- Though when he was shouting in Spanish, the accent on the words was very strongly American. Only reason I noticed was because I'm in my 4th year of Spanish. It's interesting how fluent Nicky is. He's supposedly rusty at his Spanish but can pretty much translate a whole song. I can't do that. I think the only people that could probably do that would be people in the IB classes. Doesn't this mean that Nicky isn't really rusty? Wonder where he practiced his Spanish then...School went by really fast today. Classes are tolerable but Spanish is just crap. I hate that class, not for the content but for the people that are in there. I think I already covered this so most of you know what I'm talking about. Right now I hate math too, because I just don't understand and that makes me put off doing my homework which leads to failing tests. Lunch was also interesting because my notion that certain people at the table I sit at are talking behind my back has been confirmed more or less. Usually there are no hushed conversations at the table but there was several today. And it seemed like they were talking about me because one of them remarked about how I'd taken a seat that had been reserved by someone else through putting their backpack on it. Then afterwards at the table they had whispered conversations and seemed to glance at me so suspicions confirmed. The girl in question who's seat I took didn't even make it to the table by the time I was done with my lunch and had left to go to the library. I'm usually always done eating around 10 minutes into our lunch time of 40 min. We never have enough chairs because we are the fastest growing community /sarcasm. Still, there's no need to whisper behind someone's back when they're right there. I'm sure I'm probably making this all up but I don't like half the people I eat lunch with so yeah. I would so rather be at a different lunch with my real friends instead of these acquaintances. Going to sleep now. Very sleepy.One last thing. SQUEEE!!! Enrique on Ellen Degeneres show tomorrow! Squee!
mercoledì 15 agosto 2007
More la...
More later.
You Are 17 Years Old
17 Under 12: You are a kid at heart. You still have an optimistic life view - and you look at the world with awe.13-19: You are a teenager at heart. You question authority and are still trying to find your place in this world.20-29: You are a twentysomething at heart. You feel excited about what's to come... love, work, and new experiences.30-39: You are a thirtysomething at heart. You've had a taste of success and true love, but you want more!40+: You are a mature adult. You've been through most of the ups and downs of life already. Now you get to sit back and relax.What Age Do You Act?
You Are 17 Years Old
17 Under 12: You are a kid at heart. You still have an optimistic life view - and you look at the world with awe.13-19: You are a teenager at heart. You question authority and are still trying to find your place in this world.20-29: You are a twentysomething at heart. You feel excited about what's to come... love, work, and new experiences.30-39: You are a thirtysomething at heart. You've had a taste of success and true love, but you want more!40+: You are a mature adult. You've been through most of the ups and downs of life already. Now you get to sit back and relax.What Age Do You Act?
venerdì 10 agosto 2007
Meme and birthday wishes
I don't think you know me but Happy birthday alethialia! Squee! Eddie Cibrian in a new show! Yay! Need to go watch at 9:00. -checks watch obsessively-1) Comment here that you would like to be interviewed.2) I will reply with five questions.3) Post these questions, and your answers in your journal, along with who interviewed you.4) Post this meme in your journal as wellInterviewd by loozy 1. Who are you? Give a general description of yourself. I'm a 5'2" Asian girl who loves to be challenged in school. I am still in high school and am taking as many hard classes as I can though my grades aren't as good as I would want them to be as a result. I love reading, fiction or fanfic, doesn't matter I devour both when I like what I read. Only just recently got into the writing part of fanfic this past summer. I am addicted to tv and watch way too many shows per week. I ship many pairings, mainly slash because I have just about sworn off het. I have major issues with procrastination, trying to break myself of it but it's slow going. I have difficulty opening up to people due to some bad experiences with former friends. But am a steadfast friend to those I consider my friends. I hate people who pretend to be dumb/just don't even try doing their own work and people who always have to draw attention to themselves or think way too highly of themselves.2. You have to recite a poem in front of class. But you forgot to learn it. What is your excuse?My excuse... don't really have one, I'd just say I totally forgot, that I had tons of other homework to do, forgot to write it down in my planner, and just basically spaced. (Not very original but it's what I would say. I'm way too honest for my own good.). You take part in a discussion about WaT. You are asked why you ship D/M. What is your answer?My answer: I ship D/M because the chemistry between them during season 1 just leaps off the screen. Martin has absolutely no chemistry with Sam and Sam barely seems to know Martin at all. While Danny after a few bumps in the road knows Martin intimately, almost more than Martin knows himself. They can read each other really well for two people who were complete strangers when they first met. They exchange whole conversations in just a few glances. They balance each other out, one has weaknesses which are the other's strengths. They always challenge each other to be the best that they can be. They have this easy camaraderie that's rare even between the best of friends. They can be brutally honest with each other, knowing that things won't be taken the wrong way. 4. Why that nickname?My former best friend, Alexa (we're just now casual friends now), came up with it way back when (5th grade?). I liked it and it just stuck with me. It fell out of use with her and when I was signing up for yahoo!mail, that was the name that first came to mind. I've just been using it constantly since then because I'm not very creative and it takes me forever to come up with a nickname of my own so I just reuse the one that works. 5. Favourite episode of WaT? And why?I have two favorite episodes, "Silent Partner" and "Are You Now or Have You Ever Been." "Silent Partner" showcased the D/M dynamic as stated above. It revealed aspects about our Danny boy that just makes you ache for all the pain he's been through. It also showed some of the issues Martin carries around with him, making you love him more also. This was the episode where the hostility between Danny and Martin evolved into the beginnings of a close friendship between them. "Are You Now or Have You Ever Been" showed how Danny is always the quickest to assume the worst about people. It showed how hurt Martin was by Danny's distrust and how he valued Danny's opinion, further evidence that Danny and Martin could be more than just friends. It shows that once Martin's comfortable somewhere, that he has the respect and trust of his peers, he can give as good as he gets. He'll lose control over his emotions when something hurts him especially from people he trusts and that he's not this eternally cheerful guy, that he's human. Things get to him and that he'll react like anyone else would. It showed the ripping away of Martin's blinders about his father and Martin's finally standing up to him. Then there's all this angst between Martin and Danny and Danny's apology at the end didn't really resolve it, leaving this thing unsaid between them. There's so much more I could say but those are the main things. This episode revealed many things about Danny and Martin, allowing us to get a deeper glimpse into these characters who we've come to know and love about who they are, all in an intelligent way.Questions from nekosmuse1) Who or what has the most influence over your writing?Hm... hard to say. In fanfiction, you, my other betas, authors I've read (fanfic and fiction), and thoughts of what I'd like to read myself. In school related writing, my teachers mostly and friends who's opinion I trust. 2) What is the craziest thing you've ever done, and gotten away with?Going somewhere (orchestra room) the complete opposite (school library, I think it was) of what was told to a teacher. (Yes, I'm very boring but that's me. ;) )3) You know that at exactly 11:00 am tomorrow the world is going to end. You also know that no one else knows and if they did there could be mass panic. Do you tell anyone?Yes, my family and my closet friends so we could enjoy the time we had left together. 4) White or dark meat?White. I think my mom said that dark meat was bad for you, something about being too fatty. I prefer white anyway, it's not as hard to chew as some dark meat or maybe it's the other way around...5) In the event that the government comes in and takes over fandom, destroying it completely and utterly, would you still continue to write just for yourself?Hell yes! The government can go screw itself. My writing wouldn't be any good and I doubt that I'd finish half the things I start (much like now) but it's my choice. The government can't restrict what goes on in my head and maybe we wouldn't have central places for fandom but I can still share it with those of you that I know enjoy the same fandoms I do. I'd do it by the old fashioned way, snail mail.
domenica 5 agosto 2007
.........
...... I feel like a traitor. I like some of the new stories by the new authors in the N/G fandom. I love the stories from carolinecrane, geekwriter123, cinderlily, and everybody considered as the old vanguard. I miss the stories from them. Some of the new authors just make me cringe when I read their stories or how Nick and Greg are characterized but I squee over the fact that there'll be more fic. Maybe it's because I only joined the N/G fandom after getting hooked on LJ or maybe it's because of how I am and being able to take everything as it happens, just doing whatever I want with what happens. Or maybe it's because I shipped a massive pairing before and don't really mind N/G becoming like that. That pairing was Jack/Daniel from Stargate SG-1 and though I'm not as obsessed with it as I was, I still enjoy it. And the thing with that fandom is that it's been on for quite a few years so the massive fandom is to be expected and then there's the fact that there are entire sites devoted to certain pairings. For the most part if you can find the good sites you can avoid the fic that just doesn't ring true to you. That hasn't quite happened with N/G, maybe it should? I don't know but I see CSI becoming as big a fandom online as Stargate is. I feel for you guys I really do. I know the drawbacks of the expansion will be having to deal with more fic that is just crap and I'll cringe when I read them. But I'll just forget those stories as quickly as I can. I probably will never abandon the fandom. I never wrote them so maybe I'm not as invested as you guys are.I'll probably never abandon a fandom, grow bored with one and not go looking for fic yeah, but never outright abandonment. If that makes sense at all. They just seem to become a part of my online life. They won't inhabit my offline life, but I'll go looking for fic. I'm not making sense I know that. It's like I have seperate fandom areas. One category's for just reading fic online and then there's another one where I'll submerge myself into all aspects of the fandom. Jason Wiles is leaving Third Watch. Wah! No more Bosco! He was the reason I started watching TW passionately and he was the reason I was still watching this season. I like Carlos too but Bosco ranks higher. And yes this season more of the other actors have gotten a chance to shine but there's this spark missing when Bosco isn't involved in the story lines. I think I passionately started watching TW during season 4? where it was heavily Bosco involved. -sigh- Why is he leaving? Wah! I'm gonna miss my Bosco. I'll probably still watch for a while but eventually I'll phase it out of my tv rotation. Wah, I'll probably phase TW out after awhile. I'll miss it when I do. Why are all the original cast members going? *cries for her Bosco*
Iscriviti a:
Commenti (Atom)