sabato 25 agosto 2007
Note: I ...
Note: I owe comments to several people and some I owe questions for that interview meme. Sorry it's taking so long, it's been a busy weekend. Why is LJ my preferred choice of procrastination? Lol, like I really have to ask myself that. ;) Anyway should be doing this block project. We have to present a ridiculous solution to a problem á la "A Modest Proposal" by Jonathan Swift. Updating for Friday through Monday. In part due to the Great LJ Blackout of '05 and because didn't have much time to get to a computer. Edit: 11:21p.m. Should go to sleep but want to finish update and still have one piece of homework left to do. Could do it tomorrow morning because we have late start Wednesdays where we go to school 2 hours later than normal. We worship these days. Though the bad thing is that on Thursdays, it feels likes Monday all over again. On Friday, we got the "Modest Proposal" assignment and two people in my group of 4, technically only one suggested the "problem" of gays but still I couldn't believe what I was hearing. I never expected to encounter this at school. Sure I assumed that people were of this view but I'd never encountered it in real live, well technically anywhere other than on the news, and so I was living in this little bubble of denial where everyone was okay with gays. It was quite a shock to have someone that I know say that "all gays should be dropped into the middle of Arkansas then have a wall built around them. Keeping them contained and keeping the Arkansasians busy." What's wrong with gays??? What does everyone have against them? Why is religion such a freaking big influence in our lives? I didn't know that religion was such a major factor in what we think is "proper." I bet 500 years from now, people will be wondering why the issue of gays was so controversial (well at least I hope that will be the case). Also on Friday, the destruction of my last fandom and 'ship. They made one of the characters of my OTP, Ford from Stargate Atlantis, a recurring character. This is what would have gone up on Friday if there hadn't been a blackout. NO NO NO! Shep/Ford! My Shep/Ford! Inarticulate rage at the TPTB for ruining my only really slashy pairing left. Only pairing that still had goddamn subtext when they managed to be onscreen together (because other than the pilot and 38 minutes, Ford is basically nonexistent). Mine! Mine! Mine! Shep/Ford! They demoted him to a recurring character! Replaced him on Sheppard's team with some hunted human who won't even trust them. Shep/Ford! I swear all the producers are looking for any rumors of slash and then destroying it [the pairing]. It doesn’t explain McKay's [continued] existence then but grrrrr! They added Beckett, why the fuck couldn't they keep Ford!?!?! He is the most underdeveloped character, all the fans agree, and whose fault is that??? Huh??? (accusing tone directed at producers) Instead of dealing they invent a totally new character to replace Ford!!!!! He better be added back full time after season 2. Fans need to stage a boycott, petition, whatever to get Ford back like they did with Daniel. Interestingly enough, I posted that opinion about the petition stuff elsewhere and that has become reality. I myself need to sign it but yay maybe it'll keep Ford around. Hopefully it works because there are no slashy shows left then, not ones with subtext you don't have to work that hard for. There was a little ficlet that just sprang out in response to that news. Don't know if I'll post it here. Battlestar Galactica premiered. Squeee! Shiny new fandom! No slash hints yet but I'm shipping Apollo/Starbuck. Hee, never thought I'd go back to het. but this pairing just jumps out at you. I so hope they fulfill what they are hinting at. That's all for Friday.Really, really, really crappy day. Don't want to go into it. All I have to say is that my eyes were very tired from all the crying that happened. Absolute, complete boredom. Had to go to the public library and volunteer. My mom made me go. All I ever do is RHA which is finding and pulling the stuff people have put on hold. Utter boredom for two straight hours then I got to be online for the next 3 hours with cable internet. Yay! but they have this filter so sometimes sites I want to go to are blocked. Then nothing interesting, just lazed around putting off homework. Oooo, watched the CSI: Miami repeat. God was this one slashy! Subtext galore between Speed and Delko. Was squeeing madly whenever they had scenes together and for some odd reason those are few and far between. Another thing is it just me or is Speed even during season 1 kinda being marginalized? Because I haven't really seen him much the last couple episodes and he never seems to work his own crime scene. First day of volunteering at the hospital. Was poked and blood was drawn. Then was shown what we'd be doing. Thought it'd be more exciting but guess they don't let kids do the more interesting stuff. Most of it involved paperwork, getting that delivered or filed. The delivering of the papers to the mother/baby unit was cool. We got to see the papers go travel through a transport tube. Then there was delivery of clothes to the various wings, up and down elevators stairs. You do a lot of walking, didn't expect that. We were shown around by these two guys. One we could barely understand and the other is laidback. Overall, it was an interesting experience, I'll be bored after a couple months of doing the same thing though. It seems I'm the youngest during my shift on Monday afternoons. Everyone else is either a junior or a senior. I'm only a sophomore. I was surprised, I'd thought there would be more people my age. Most of the people volunteering want to become doctors. I don't, I'm just curious about the hospital and I need the hours for CAS (IB requirements). Missed my piano lesson. I hadn't thought there was one but there was because I didn't read the contract. I'd assumed that she followed the Lake Washington School District holiday sheet exactly because before then she had but this was the first time she didn't. She only follows the schedule for the major holidays and well I wasn't really paying attention and so didn't take in that little detail. Hence, my missing the lesson. Arg. I wasn't ready yet anyway so that was kinda a good thing. I don't like practicing piano, I don't know why. I'd rather I was learning cello but piano is cheaper and more brother and sister want to learn. -sigh- Maybe when I'm an adult I can learn cello. Behind the Stargate: Secrets Revealed aired. Rainbow was host! This is the most we've seen of him since the premiere and 38 minutes. Then all the behind the scenes stuff. Rainbow's having so much fun! How could they scale his character back! We never even got good character development out of him. The plot for Ford next season is crap. SPOILERS Ford becomes SuperFord! and goes hunting Wraith because an enzyeme makes him able to track Wraith easily. Ford escapes from Atlantis and goes on a Wraith hunting spree. The team has to get him back but have orders to shoot to kill because he's a security risk if he escapes. The team nears his capture, but Ford jumps into the beam of a passing Wraith dart? ship and escapes that way. That's how they're gonna reduce Ford to recurring. Wah!!! I have this bad feeling that eventually there will be no more Ford at all on the show, that they're just gonna write Ford off completely. Watched CSI where Nick speaks Spanish. -melts- OmgSquee! Nick. Spanish. Gun. -melts/drools- Though when he was shouting in Spanish, the accent on the words was very strongly American. Only reason I noticed was because I'm in my 4th year of Spanish. It's interesting how fluent Nicky is. He's supposedly rusty at his Spanish but can pretty much translate a whole song. I can't do that. I think the only people that could probably do that would be people in the IB classes. Doesn't this mean that Nicky isn't really rusty? Wonder where he practiced his Spanish then...School went by really fast today. Classes are tolerable but Spanish is just crap. I hate that class, not for the content but for the people that are in there. I think I already covered this so most of you know what I'm talking about. Right now I hate math too, because I just don't understand and that makes me put off doing my homework which leads to failing tests. Lunch was also interesting because my notion that certain people at the table I sit at are talking behind my back has been confirmed more or less. Usually there are no hushed conversations at the table but there was several today. And it seemed like they were talking about me because one of them remarked about how I'd taken a seat that had been reserved by someone else through putting their backpack on it. Then afterwards at the table they had whispered conversations and seemed to glance at me so suspicions confirmed. The girl in question who's seat I took didn't even make it to the table by the time I was done with my lunch and had left to go to the library. I'm usually always done eating around 10 minutes into our lunch time of 40 min. We never have enough chairs because we are the fastest growing community /sarcasm. Still, there's no need to whisper behind someone's back when they're right there. I'm sure I'm probably making this all up but I don't like half the people I eat lunch with so yeah. I would so rather be at a different lunch with my real friends instead of these acquaintances. Going to sleep now. Very sleepy.One last thing. SQUEEE!!! Enrique on Ellen Degeneres show tomorrow! Squee!
Iscriviti a:
Commenti sul post (Atom)
Nessun commento:
Posta un commento